St.  John  the  Evangelist Catholic  Church

8908 Old Branch Avenue, Clinton, MD 20735 



The Liturgical Year /

the Calendar




The liturgical year consists of a seasonal cycle and a sanctoral cycle, called the Proper of Time and the Proper of Saints, respectively. Both are organized and published in a liturgical calendar, which is also enriched by observances proper to local Churches, whether national, diocesan, parish-level, or religious community. The Paschal Mystery of Jesus Christ—his suffering, death, and resurrection—is continuously proclaimed and renewed through celebrating the events of his life and in the feasts of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the saints.


The liturgical year is made up of six seasons:


Four weeks of preparation before the celebration of Jesus' birth


Recalling the Nativity of Jesus Christ and his manifestation to the peoples of the world


A six-week period of penance before Easter

Sacred Paschal Triduum

The holiest "Three Days" of the Church's year, where the Christian people recall the suffering, death, and resurrection of Jesus


50 days of joyful celebration of the Lord's resurrection from the dead and his sending forth of the Holy Spirit

Ordinary Time               

Divided into two sections (one span of 4-8 weeks after Christmas Time and another lasting about six months after Easter Time), wherein the faithful consider the fullness of Jesus' teachings and works among his people


The organization of each liturgical year is governed by the Church and ultimately integrated into a liturgical calendar.

The Second Vatican Council brought renewed emphasis to Sunday as a unique liturgical category: "the Lord's day is the original feast day" (Sacrosanctum Concilium, no. 106), and it "must be observed in the universal Church as the primordial holy day of obligation" (Code of Canon Law, canon 1246 §1). Thus, only a limited number of feasts of the Lord or the saints may take the place of the scheduled Sunday celebration.

Saints and other celebrations are distinguished in accordance with the importance assigned to each one: each is a Solemnity, Feast, or Memorial. Sundays and Solemnities begin their celebration on the evening before, Feasts and Memorials are celebrated over the course of one day, and Memorials are either Obligatory or Optional.

Finally, holy days of obligation (also known as feasts of precept) are days when the faithful are obliged to participate at Mass and abstain from unnecessary work or other activities which hinder the suitable relaxation of mind and body. Each Sunday is a holy day of obligation, and six Solemnities are also observed as feasts of precept in the United States.

Liturgical Year and Calendar | USCCB



Location: 8908 Old Branch Avenue, Clinton, Maryland 20735 Rectory Phone: (301) 868-1070 


Webmaster This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.    Webmaster Gmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.










In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning - John 1:1-2 NIV